| March 25, 2014 | Comments (0)

The Associated Press Class A basketball All-State team, as selected by a panel of 11 Michigan sports writers:

Player of the Year: Eric Davis, Saginaw Arthur Hill, 6-4, Jr.,

Kenny Goins, Warren Mott, 6-8, Sr.

Jaylen Johnson, Ypsilanti, 6-9, Sr.

Yante Maten, Bloomfield Hills, 6-7, Sr.

Cameron Morse, Flint Carman-Ainsworth, 6-1, Sr.

Deshaun Thrower, Muskegon, 6-1, Sr.

Justin Tillman, Detroit Pershing, 6-7, Sr.

Akhemji Williams, Rochester Adams, 5-8, Sr.

Deyonta Davis, Muskegon, 6-9, Jr.

Cassius Winston, Detroit U-D Jesuit, 6-2, Soph.


Keith Guy, Muskegon

SPECIAL MENTION (nominees receiving two or more votes from the 11-member panel):

Xavier Tillman, Grand Rapids Forest Hills Central; Jaleel Hogan, Mount Pleasant; Aaron Foster-Smith, Taylor Truman; Kenny Carpenter, Detroit Cass Tech; Drew Cushingberry, Romeo; Keyon Addison, Saginaw; Xavier Cochran, Ann Arbor Huron; Algevon Eichelberger, Saginaw; DeQuandre Dentmond, Lansing Eastern


Nick Simon, Howell.

HONORABLE MENTION (nominees receiving one or no votes from the 11-member panel):

Justice Green, Flint Carman-Ainsworth; Evan Marquardt, Midland Dow; Kris Clyburn, Romulus; Tyler Johnson, Howell; Jeron Rogers, North Farmington; Leonard Harper-Baker, Detroit Southeastern; Mar’Qywell Jackson, Detroit East English Village; Khalil Gracey, Bloomfield Hills; Will Williams, Midland; Brian Bowen, Saginaw Arthur Hill; Chauncey Bryant, Clio; Jake Daniels, Holly; Marquavian Stephens, Swartz Creek; Andy Marwede, Alpena; Dante Hawkins, Holland; Brent Hibbitts, Hudsonville; Deleon Brown, Grand Rapids Christian; Joe Bowser, Battle Creek Central; Michael Johnson, Jackson; Marcus Moore, Lansing Waverly; Michael Fomby, Lansing Waverly; Don’Quall Jackson, Holt; Doug Bradfield, Mason; Cassell Jones, Grand Ledge


Jeff Olind, Warren Mott; George Ward, Detroit Southeastern; Duane Graves, Bloomfield Hills; John Pintar, Alpena

VOTING PANEL: Jason Schmitt, The Oakland Press (Pontiac); Dick Hoekstra, Lansing State Journal; Tom Markowski, The Detroit News; James Cook, Traverse City Record-Eagle; Nate Schneider, Morning Sun (Mount Pleasant); Eric Woodyard, MLive-Flint; Tim Robinson, Livingston County Daily Press & Argus (Howell); Corky Emrick, Sturgis Journal; Steve Kaminski, MLive-Grand Rapids; Mark Opfermann, MLive-Muskegon; George Pohly, The Macomb Daily (Mount Clemens).


BLOCKAGE: Rochester Adams' Akhemji Williams (left) swats at the shot by Rochester's Mike Murri during Friday's Crosstown Showdown. Courtesy Photo | Ken Swart

BLOCKAGE: Rochester Adams’ Akhemji Williams (left) earned a spot on the Associated PRess Class A All-State First Team.  Courtesy Photo | Ken Swart

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Auburn Hills Avondale, Basketball, Clarkston, Featured Articles, High School, High School (M-Z), Lake Orion, Most Recently Updated Stories, Ortonville Brandon, Oxford, Pontiac, Prep Wraps, Rochester, Rochester Adams, Rochester Stoney Creek, Sport, Sports Shorts, State Rankings, Stats / Area Leaders, Top Stories, Troy, Troy Athens, Uncategorized

About Dan Stickradt: DAN STICKRADT | SENIOR EDITOR View author profile.

Leave a Reply

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.